About Us

MISSION OF THE WEST WARWICK PUBLIC LIBRARY

The mission of the West Warwick Public Library is to promote the reading interests and life-long learning of the citizens of West Warwick and all other users by providing free and open access to a variety of cultural, intellectual, and informational resources, materials, and services.

WEST WARWICK PUBLIC LIBRARY...

...opened on February 20, 1967. But it began in 1958 as the dream of a handful of town individuals. Nearly a decade of campaigning secured one of the first library construction grants in Rhode Island. More funding was provided by the Library Services and Construction Act of 1964.

Modest at first, the building was renovated and expanded upon in 1991 to what we know today. West Warwick was once home to the Crompton Free Library, a one-room building built in 1876. West Warwick Public Library was once called the Robert H. Champlin Memorial Library, named after a local benefactor.

WWPL is serving the community in more ways than ever. When COVID struck, we were one of the first libraries in Rhode Island to adapt, offering curbside pickup, virtual programs and resources, and participation in the Governor's reading challenge. Our staff continues their commitment to facilitating a clean, safe environment for our patrons to return to using the services they enjoy and depend on.

OUR FULL-TIME STAFF

Colin McCullough

Library Director

(401) 828-3750 x 108

colin@wwpl.org

Rashaa Al-Sasah

Head of Youth Services, Librarian

(401) 828-3750 x 120

rashaa@wwpl.org / youth@wwpl.org

Anne Capezza

Administrative Assistant, Passport Agent

(401) 828-3750 x 5

anne@wwpl.org

"It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to."

- J. R. R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

Emma Brelsford

Youth Services Librarian

(401) 828-3750 x 112

emma@wwpl.org / youth@wwpl.org

"You must do something to make the world more beautiful."

- Barbara Cooney, Miss Rumphius

Caitlin Mendoza

Head of Circulation

(401) 828-3750 x 110

caitlin@wwpl.org

Amber Bliss

Head of Information Services, Librarian

(401) 828-3750 x 111

amber@wwpl.org

"What in the world are we going to do?

Look at what everybody's going through.

What kind of world do you want it to be?

Am I the future or the history?"

- Coldplay, Everyday Life

Maria Saillant

ELL Coordinator, Community Liaison

(401) 828-3750 x 106

maria@wwpl.org

Learning is my passion; I love to learn.

Dylan Morrisroe

Technology Coordinator

(401) 828-3750 x 114

dylan@wwpl.org

Where does the king keep his armies?

In his sleevies!

Sara D'Angelos

Information Services Librarian

(401) 828-3750 x 107

sara@wwpl.org

"Imagination is something that belongs to all of us, and every sparkling idea can lead to even more."

- The Dreamfinder

Richard Machado

Head of Maintenance